IBW Spotlight: Porky @ B Spot Burgers.

This post is part of the Indy Burger Guy’s INDY BURGER WEEK event – where I’ll be posting past reviews of burgers that are currently part of the INDY BURGER WEEK festivities! This means that the Porky burger is just $5 at B Spot from June 12-18! For more information on INDY BURGER WEEK, please visit IndyBurgerWeek.com!

This review was originally posted on September 5, 2016.

Having started this blog a scant nine days prior, I certainly wasn’t expecting to make a return to one of the burger spots I’d previously visited and reviewed so soon. However, when my wife suggested we take her in-town-visiting sister there for dinner… well, I wasn’t about to say no! (NOTE: To read up on my last visit to B Spot, check out my review of Yo!)

For my second trip to the Indianapolis branch of celebrity chef Michael Symon’s upscale burger joint, I opted for the Porky  – the burger that won Symon top honors at the SoBe Burger Bash in 2012. (On my last visit, you may recall, I opted for the Yo!, which won the same award in 2011. Altogether, Symon has won the award four times – his Fat Doug burger having won in both 2010 and 2014. Guess which burger I’ll be trying on my next visit…)

Anyway – Porky.

To quote Samuel L. Jackson: “This is a tasty burger!” There’s a seeming simplicity to this burger that belies its depth of flavor. It’s a third-pound burger served on a toasted brioche bun and topped with pulled pork, coleslaw, and Chef Symon’s own Cleveland BBQ sauce*. That’s it. But as you can see from the featured image on this post, this is no simple burger.

In spite of the disparate elements involved, there’s a spectacular balance of flavor here. Everything is added with intentionality and compliments the other elements beautifully. If one ingredient from this burger were removed, all that would be lost. The acidity from the cole slaw and the sweet smokiness of the pulled pork and barbecue sauce marry together beautifully with the beefiness of the burger, made from B Spot’s signature combo of  ground sirloin, brisket, and spare ribs. It’s a measure, well-balanced,and altogether tasty burger, to be sure!

This is not to say that Porky is the perfect burger. The major strikes against: (1.) The bottom bun of the brioche has a tough time standing up to the moisture of the coleslaw. By burger’s end, it’s almost disintegrated.  (2.) The addition of the pulled pork throws off the balance of what I call the MTB Ratio (meat-toppings-bread) a bit too much in favor of the meat. (3.) This burger is MESSY, you guys! Between the slaw and the pork, I swear a good chunk ended up on my plate – but every bite that eventually landed home was incredibly delicious! (NOTE: What I call ‘eatalility’ is definitely a factor in my decision-making. One definitely wants to be able to enjoy one’s burger without it ending up on one’s hands, plate, and/or shirt!)

For sides, we ordered both onion rings and the Lola fries for the table. The onion rings we’d had before, but the fries were new to us. We loved them! They’re seasoned with rosemary, so they may remind you (as they did my sister-in-law) of a thin, crispy potato focaccia. Try them with the chile-infused Lola ketchup (served at every table with five other killer sauces) for an additional kick!

And, whatever you do, don’t skip out without trying one of the Bad A** shakes! (We got the Vanilla Bean Apple Pie & Bacon shake again! So tasty!)

With so many options to try, it’s worth taking your time to check out B Spot for your burger needs!

EXECUTION: 3.0/3.5
APPEARANCE: 1.5/1.5
TASTE: 4.6/5.0

FINAL RANKING: 9.1/10

THE DETAILS:
B Spot
2727 E 86th St. Ste. 165
Indianapolis, IN 46240
bspotburgers.com

Cost Range: $$ ($7-$12)

* I didn’t realize until after I actually got the burger to my table that Porky lacked cheese, thus technically negating Guideline #3. Sorry ’bout that. Hopefully, it won’t happen again.

Leave a Reply

