The House Burger @ Indy Stout House.

The Indy Burger Guy visited the Indy Stout House on Saturday, March 11, 2017.

One of my favorite things about being a burger blogger is the recommendations that I get from friends and family members of new burger places to try. Indy Stout House was a recommendation of one of my friends from work – Karen – as a result of an ongoing conversation about great burgers and fried appetizers (we’re both fond of fried mushrooms). Having not heard of Indy Stout House, I told her what I tell everybody who gives me a new recommendation: “I’ll add it to the list.”

Not long ago, I found myself with a severe burger yen on a weekend and every place I wanted to get to was already crammed full. Remembering my conversation with Karen, I decided to give this new place a whirl.

Indy Stout House is tucked in a small strip mall just off 96th and Keystone on Indy’s north side. The interior looks like a neighborhood bar from a bygone era – lots of open dining space, a centrally-located bar, and even a pool table. Much of the interior is wood, which brings about a sense of nostalgia – for me, anyway – and reminds me of the old Noble Romans on West 10th St. that I used to visit as a boy.

The place seemed pretty dead for a weekend evening, which tells me that word has not yet spread far or wide enough yet for Indy Stout House to develop a burgeoning clientele. Or, perhaps the night I visited was an anomaly. Whatever the reason, I don’t anticipate this being the norm for too very much longer.

As I walked in, I was greeted by the bartender (who appeared to be the only person working the front of the house), who allowed me my pick of seats (the bar was practically full of regulars, so I opted for a small table in the dining room, in full view of the many flatscreen TVs showing any one of a number of March Madness games. I ordered a bottle of local craft beer (there didn’t seem to be any on tap) and the House Burger with a side of tater tots – available for upgrade at no extra charge!

After a reasonable wait time, my burger came to my table, looking incredibly appetizing! It was very simply put together – a burger patty cooked to an ever-so-slightly underdone medium rare and topped with a melted slice of American cheese, fresh tomato, iceberg lettuce, onion, pickles, and mayo, all nestled on a grilled – actually, charred – brioche-style bun. The bun was a real stand-out, slightly sweet and with enough density to hold together quite well (or, it would have – more on that in a moment). I asked my server if it was house-made, but he responded in the negative. He was kind enough to give me the name of the supplier, but I was too otherwise occupied to make note of it.

The beef was good quality and exceptionally juicy – in fact, I wonder if the burger had not been cooked enough. By the end, I had amassed a sizable puddle of reddish liquid on my plate – moreso than I’m used to with even the juiciest burgers. This did cause some bleed through into the bottom bun, leading to a bun that should have held together coming apart more quickly than it should have. The patty could have also been wider (or the bun smaller) as the bun provided a sort of canopy around the burger, making for a few awkward bites.

Still, for the money and the atmosphere, Indy Stout House is a great new find on Indy’s north side! If you find yourself in the area with a desire to try something new, be sure to stop in and check out what they have to offer!

EXECUTION: 2.8/3.5
APPEARANCE: 1.3/1.5
TASTE: 4.2/5.0

FINAL RANKING: 8.3/10

THE DETAILS:
Indy Stout House
9454 Haver Way
Indianapolis, IN 46240
indystouthouse.com

Leave a Reply

