Recipe: Beef Sliders with Jarlsberg and Garlic-Onion Jam.

Welcome back to Musings, a bi-monthly feature exploring my personal thoughts and feelings about burgers and burger culture. For my sophomore effort, I decided to share a recipe for a tasty impromptu burger I cooked up for my wife and I a while back.

A while back, I posted a picture on my Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram accounts of a fairly simple burger that I’d made myself at home. (The idea for sliders had been my wife’s, one that I’m seriously grateful for!) Always up for new content on my blog, I decided to go ahead and share the recipe with you, dear Reader, should you decide to make them for yourself!

Honestly, there’s not much reason to post the recipe here – it’s really more common sense than a ‘recipe,’ really. It was more of a ‘Thanksgiving leftover’ burger of sorts, seeing as how we had both cheese and jam remaining from our Thanksgiving spread a few days before.

The jam is likely going to be the most difficult item for many of you to find. My wife and I sampled some on a trip to the Sur la Table in Carmel and liked it so well, we picked up a jar. It’s the Roasted Garlic Onion Jam by Stonewall Kitchen and you can order it online if it doesn’t happen to be at a store near you. It makes the burger, I think – a great blend of sweet and savory that really doesn’t hide the fact that it’s garlic and onion. A wonderful addition to a cheese plate… or to a burger!

Another note on cooking before I post the recipe: I don’t own a grill as I live in an apartment complex, so I generally cook my burgers in a pan on the range. If you have the means and prefer the grill, go that route. Don’t feel that my limitations must be yours!

Beef Sliders with Jarlsberg and Onion-Garlic Jam.

Ingredients

  • 1-lb. ground beef (80-20 is best!)
  • 8 dinner rolls (King’s Hawaiian rolls work really well!)
  • about 2 oz. of Jarlsberg cheese, sliced thin (enough for 8 sliders)*
  • some Stonewall Kitchen Roasted Garlic Onion Jam
  • salt & pepper to taste

Technique

  1. Divide your pound of beef into eight 2-oz. portions. Lightly form each portion into a patty, pressing your thumb into the center on one side to keep the burger from puffing out.
  2. Season each patty on both sides with salt and pepper. (If you want to add any other seasonings, this is the time!)
  3. Drop the burgers into a hot pan. (How much butter, fat, or oil you put into the pan depends on the fat content of your beef.) Cover and cook until seared on one side, about three minutes.
  4. Flip burgers, add cheese, cover and cook for another three minutes. (This will cook them to about medium. If you want a more done burger, leave them in the skillet a bit longer.)
  5. While the burgers are cooking, slice your rolls with a serrated blade. Spread with butter and lightly toast in a separate skillet for about a minute or until golden brown.
  6. Spread a generous portion of jam onto one side of the toasted rolls (or both, if you’re feeling zesty!).
  7. When the burgers finish (when they achieve the necessary level of doneness and the cheese is appropriately melted), remove them from the heat and place them onto the buns. Enjoy!

Makes eight sliders.

* My wife used some leftover brie on her burgers in place of the Swiss Jarlsberg and she really enjoyed it.

I didn’t really top these burgers with anything but the jam, but feel free to experiment with veggies – I bet argula or sauteed mushrooms would be great on these!

Leave a Reply

