Crazy Good Cheeseburger @ Jaggers.

The Indy Burger Guy visited Jaggers in Noblesville on Saturday, December 17, 2016.

Ever since they opened their Greenwood location back in 2014, Jaggers has been on my shortlist of burger places I wanted to check out. A concept from the people behind Texas Roadhouse, Indy is the fortunate test market for a fast casual burger joint that puts quality above all else.

It’s not everyday I’m in Greenwood or Noblesville, however, so it seemed unlikely I’d be able to get to Jaggers… until a buddy asked me to catch a showing of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story at the Hamilton 16 up in Noblesville. I had my opening and after the movie, I made the quick jaunt over to Jaggers for a cheeseburger.

I went with the Crazy Good Cheeseburger in its single patty form. (The menu didn’t make clear, as the website does, that the Double Double Cheeseburger is the standard burger, so I didn’t go with that one. Next time, I will – the MTB ratio will be much better!) It was a smaller burger, not far from the size of the burgers from Beast Food Truck, but like the burgers from Beast, quality of ingredients is a big part of what makes the Jaggers experience such an endearing one.

The look of Jaggers is not unlike a nicer McDonald’s – booths and tables around an open dining room, a few flatscreen televisions, and large windows looking out on the parking lot. This is the epitome of a ‘fast-casual’ restaurant: it’s a step above fast food, but not quite on the level of a casual restaurant like an Applebee’s or a Chili’s. The decor fits well into that vibe, but the food… the food is something else entirely.

The first thing I noticed when I took a bite of this burger was the freshness of the ingredients. The meat is definitely fresh, ground onsite daily, and seasoned masterfully. It was a bit overdone, likely to meet with standards one typically finds in a fast-casual restaurant, but it was an incredibly flavorful burger nonetheless.

The bun was also fresh – baked daily (onsite, I assume). In many ways, it was an ideal burger bun: it had enough density to contain the moisture from the burger grease and condiments and the pillowy texture that made it easy to bite into. My one complaint – it’s a bun clearly made for a double-patty burger. This makes the bun a little too thick for a single-patty, which throws off the MTB ratio of the burger. Again, next time, I’ll opt for the double-patty.

My one complaint was the freshness of the toppings. The burger came topped with diced onion, shredded iceberg lettuce, a slice of tomato, and ‘Jaggers sauce,’ a zesty condiment reminiscent of a thousand island or a romesco. The sauce was wonderful – no complaints there, but the other ingredients were a bit underwhelming. I’m not a big fan of iceberg lettuce in general: it provides a decent texture, but is flavorless and ultimately without nutrition altogether. The tomato slice was thin and under-ripe, which led to it proving short of flavor as well. The pleasant surprise was the onions – at first I didn’t notice them because they were diced and neatly hidden under the shredded lettuce, but once I began eating, the flavors came rushing on and I was happy to discover the onion I thought was missing. A nice tart, sour pickle would’ve been nice as well.

Still, the food at Jaggers is so much better than what you would expect to get in a fast-casual restaurant. Even the tater tots (my chosen side) tasted fresh and were perfectly seasoned to boot! I found myself not even needing a condiment for dipping – they were that good!

All that to say, you would be hard-pressed to find a burger made as well for a price point as low as you’re likely to find at Jaggers. Plus, with a location on both the north and south sides of Indy, there’s likely one within a half hour of where you live. Do yourself a favor and check them out!

EXECUTION: 2.8/3.5
APPEARANCE: 1.3/1.5
TASTE: 4.5/5.0

FINAL RANKING: 8.6/10

THE DETAILS
Jaggers
Two Central Indiana locations – in Noblesville and Greenwood
eatjaggers.com
Cost Range: $$$ ($6 and under; $7-$12)*

*Jaggers single-patty burgers range in price from $5-$6, while the double-patty burgers can go as high as $7.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I knew you would love Jaggers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

