The Big Pickle @ Stacked Pickle.

Indy Burger Guy visited The Stacked Pickle on August 7, 2016.

Due to its proximity to our place of employ and the reasonable pricing of their fare (plus my wife’s fondness for their Cajun Steak Wrap), Stacked Pickle’s West Carmel location has been our go-to sports bar for the last few years. Not that either of us are particularly sports fans, mind. But if we want bar food without frills, we’re as likely to be found at Stacked Pickle than anywhere else.

To be totally truthful, I don’t spend much time in sports bars, but I can’t imagine that there’s much that sets Stacked Pickle apart from a lot of the others in Central Indiana. Big screen TVs adorn the walls, each tuned to any number of sporting events playing around the world – this time, it was golf, preseason football (that never quite got started), and the Olympic games. Joining them are any number of jerseys and photos of local sports heroes. If I were a fan of athletics at all, I’d probably have some form of emotional attachment to those things, but in all honesty, I’m just there for the food.

The burger up for consideration today is the closest thing the Stacked Pickle has to a “namesake” burger – the Big Pickle, a burger overloaded with a wide array of tasty toppings. In the interest of disclosure, this is usually my ‘go-to’ burger when I head to Stacked Pickle, but, in the interest of objectivity, I attempted into this one with as few biases as possible.

Taken as a whole, this is one busy burger! There is a lot going on between these buns! The topping list alone is fairly impressive – sauteed mushrooms and onions, fried pickles, bacon, melted cheddar cheese, lettuce, and tomato. Between the mushrooms, the onions, and the pickles, the beef often gets lost in the shuffle. And once all the grease begins to take hold, the bottom bun of the kaiser roll starts to disintegrate – which is a serious problem. (Bun integrity, people – it’s important!) This created quite a messy dining experience, to be sure! By the end of things, I had an impressive spread of toppings on my plate!

I also found myself really wanting the addition of a condiment as I was eating. By the end, the only moisture was coming from the grease of the meat itself and I wanted for nothing so much as some mayonnaise. I’ve said it before, I like mayo on a burger, but in the interest of eating the burger as it was intended, I go without. This is the first sauceless burger I’ve tried since starting this journey (the Twin Steer came with “Steer-In Sauce” [which I’m convinced was merely mayo] and Yo! came with the spicy ShaSha sauce) and, truth be told, I really missed that saucy element here.

That having been said, the Big Pickle is far from a bad burger – it’s well-cooked, looks delicious, and is undeniably tasty. Plus, the fries are some of the tastiest in Indy. Just make sure you get a side of mayo.

EXECUTION: 2.4/3.5
APPEARANCE: 1.2/1.5
TASTE: 3.8/5.0

FINAL RANKING: 7.4/10

THE DETAILS:
Stacked Pickle
various locations around Central Indiana
stackedpickle.com
Cost Range: $$ ($7-$12)

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on {in other words} and commented:
    This is my friend Stephen who reviews local burgers here is Indy. You should follow his blog! I got to be a part of one of his reviews that is coming up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

